2016: A Year and a Day Review

So 2016 was kind of a shitshow for all involved.  Icons died, morons voted (and, yes, they were cataclysmically stupid, for a variety of reasons) and the band Twenty-One Pilots had a number of hit singles.  There was very little for people to look at in 2016, nod in a satisfied way, and say, “That’ll do, pig.  That’ll do.”

Still, for others–like, um, me–2016 wasn’t…all that bad, actually.

Let’s break it down:

I had seven original pieces published:

  1. “Passive” – 44 Lies by 22 Liars: A Flourish of Flash from the Fabulous Fibbers of Post Mortem Press, edited by Eric Beebe – Post Mortem Press (January 2016)
  2. “Lead into Gold” – 44 Lies by 22 Liars: A Flourish of Flash from the Fabulous Fibbers of Post Mortem Press, edited by Eric Beebe – Post Mortem Press (January 2016)
  3. “The Agonizing Guilt of Relief (Last Days of a Ready-Made Victim)” – Chiral Mad 3, edited by Michael Bailey – Written Backwards/Dark Regions Press (May 2016)
  4. “All That You Leave Behind” – Lost Signals, edited by Max Booth III and Lori Michelle – Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing (August 2016)
  5. “The Universe Is Dying” – You, Human, edited by Michael Bailey – Dark Regions Press (December 2016)
  6. “Reflecting the Heart’s Desire” – Bones Are Made to be Broken – Dark Regions Press/Written Backwards (November 2016)
  7. “Bones Are Made to be Broken” – Bones Are Made to be Broken – Dark Regions Press/Written Backwards (November 2016)

I also sold two other stories:

  1. “How I Became a Cryptid Straight Out of a 1980s Horror Movie” to Space & Time Magazine.  You should be seeing that at some point in 2017.  My thanks to Hildy Silverman and Gerard Houarner for picking that piece up.
  2. “I Can Give You Life” to an as-yet-untitled cosmic horror/noir anthology that I’ll give more details about when contracts are signed and what have you.  My thanks to Robert S. Wilson for falling in love with that one.

Oh, yeah, and I had my first book published – Bones Are Made to be Broken, which collected 14 of what I thought were my best works from the past five years.  Michael Bailey edited and kept me in line, Pat R. Steiner rocked the fuck out of the illustrations, and Damien Angelica Walters (one of my favorite writers and people I’m lucky enough to call friend) did me the solid of rocking out an epic foreword.

In the month that it’s been out (it only came out on the 29th, which feels much longer ago than it actually is), the book has gotten better reviews than I could’ve hoped for (even one this morning, hyperlinked in the word “for”) even landing on placement on some notable lists, which leaves me absolutely dumbstruck.  My editor has sent copies to the juries of various awards–the Bram Stokers and the Shirley Jackson Awards, among others–and that’s all cool (and it is, though I’m a pessimist enough not to be overly excited or confident on my little book’s chances), but, for me, it’s the oddity of old school friends messaging me to talk to me about the book, people who haven’t seen me in almost twenty years, knew me only when I went by my last name and was more than a little nihilistic (well, more nihilistic than I am now, anyway).  I hope people like it.  Fuck, I hope people buy it, so I can continue to justify doing this every night.

On that last note, go here.

So, what does 2017 have in store?

Well, I was invited to submit to three anthologies, one of which I need to get with another writer to talk about.

The hardcover to Bones will be released in standard Dark Regions Press fashion (signed by me, Pat, Damien, and Michael; leather-bound; color illustrations; a slipcase), but also expanded by me to include another story (“Grownups” from the tribute anthology Widowmakers) and story notes on everything.

“How I Became a Cryptid…” should see the light of day, which I’m excited about; it’s a weird left-turn for me and a fuck of a fun write, anyway.  I can’t wait for people to read it.

I also have two essays written for Richard Chizmar’s Stephen King read-a-thon, whenever he gets to those books (he’s been a little busy himself, recently).

I might be guest-editing something again, which is nice.

And whatever the hell else I happen to write and–hopefully–sell.  I have some shit percolating that might work out.  Hopefully.

And that’s that.

Thanks for stopping by.

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

